Day 4: Running

Today is my first run in this Whole30.  Running, as much as I love it and I love the experience, stresses me unlike any of the other sports.  It gets my heart rate up and points out just how bad my core strength is.  These past few months have been very frustrating.  Over the past 6-7 years, my runs generally average between and 8:30-8:50 pace for the most part.  Sometimes quicker, but rarely have I had a run where the average pace was over 9’/mile.  These past few months, they have all been in the 9’/mile pace range.  I am so slow!!  I don’t know where it went, but it’s been a very humbling experience, to say the least.

However, it hasn’t completely been just because I’m out of shape or a fatty.   I get really bad seasonal allergies and my allergy doc (who is also an Ironman athlete) recommended putting as little stress on my body as possible during the bad seasons.  In the past, I would do my normal workouts at normal intensity, and then five days later I wind up with a sinus infection and migraine.  Last fall, I think I had a chronic sinus infection from October through mid-December.  Headaches every day, trouble concentrating, really tired and lethargic.  This was a lot of the reason I wanted to clean-up my diet this year.  So…per my doctor’s recommendation (his voice of reason), I have been trying to go slower and not get my HR up as high.

My worry is that when I’m running ‘slower’, I’m not actually sure I could go much faster if I wanted to!  It’s really frustrating.  A year and a half ago I ran a 1:42 half marathon (over a hilly course!).  It was totally the highlight of my athletic career to-date.  I was so proud of that.  I had been chasing 1:45 for awhile, and to crush it, well – I was thrilled.  But after that, everything went to crap.  This year, I’m trying to get back to where I was in March 2012.  I was bring really consistent with my training, which I know was why I had the success.  My issue now is that my body is in a different place than it was then, so there are things I have to be more cautious of if I want to have consistent training, steadily increasing volume.

Anyhoo, I’m sure I’ll have more to say on this topic later.  It’s something I’ve been struggling with for the past couple of months.  It’s very cathartic to write about it and get some of the stuff jumbling around in my head out.

Pre-workout: Large hard boiled egg
Workout:  45′ minute run at moderate intensity 
(HR monitor went to crap and wasn’t reading correctly)
Post-workout:  2 kiwi, 3 ounces of applegate farms turkey

Before the storm!

My street before 12/11 storm

Breakfast: 7:15 am, 3 eggs, roasted butternut squash, sausage patty, 1/2 yam.

Breakfast 12/11

If it’s not broken, don’t fix it!  I’ll have to come up with a new veggie side tomorrow, because I’m out of squash.  My veggie box is being delivered today (hopefully…I haven’t heard otherwise), so there will be some stuff in there I can dig into.

Lunch: 12:30pm, Sweet Potato Basil soup with pulled pork, leftover brussel sprouts with apples

Lunch 12/11

So.  Much.  Food.  So yummy.  Since I’ve been working at the dining room table all day, I switched things up and moved to the living room for lunch.  In dealing with leftovers, I decided I’m not going to eat the same main meal two days in a row.  It gets me burned out on the food which makes me not want it, which then makes me get off track.  I’m loving experimenting with my pulled pork, though.  That’s what’s nice about it – it’s very versatile.  I can put it in salads, in soups, over veggies or even on its own.  I can eat it all week but not have it the same way twice.

Since I’ve been working at home today I noticed that I’m not as hungry as I normally get during the day.  I think it’s the stress of sitting in one place for so long.  I hate sitting in a chair all day.  At work, I get hungry around 9:45 or 10, and today I didn’t feel like snacking until 11 (I had some cashews then).

I think the key to a good meal is having a colorful plate.  Not the actual plate, but the food on the plate.  You eat with your eyes first.

Workout #2: Bonus Bike
I didn’t actually have this planned, but since I had time I went ahead and hopped on the trainer for a bit.  Not horrible, but I could tell it was harder today than yesterday.  Cumulative fatigue.  I had a handful (or two) of raisins after the workout.

Dinner:  Roasted Cauliflower Soup, kielbasa sausage and mushrooms

Dinner 12/11

I wasn’t that hungry after the huge lunch, so I didn’t have dinner until late.  It was better than anticipated.  I did the sausages in a pan and then sauted the mushrooms in the sausage juice.  Very tasty.  I diced up some green onions to put on top as ‘garnish’ (because I’m fancy like that).  I think tonight is going to be an early bed night, I’m pooped.  Long day and two tougher workouts.  I’m really proud of myself for staying good so far!!

Leave a Reply

